OgreRenderer crash in destroySystem()

For help with general CEGUI usage:
- Questions about the usage of CEGUI and its features, if not explained in the documentation.
- Problems with the CMAKE configuration or problems occuring during the build process/compilation.
- Errors or unexpected behaviour.

Moderators: CEGUI MVP, CEGUI Team

slake_jones
Just popping in
Just popping in

OgreRenderer crash in destroySystem()

Postby slake_jones » Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:36

Hi I am new to CEGUI and I would like to say that it rocks! I searched the forums and could not find an answer so I am sorry if this has already been asked.

OgreRenderer::destroySystem() crashes when called. The code below shows how I am using the OgreRenderer:

Code: Select all

GuiEngine::GuiEngine( void )
    {
        CEGUI::OgreRenderer &renderer = CEGUI::OgreRenderer::bootstrapSystem();
        //CEGUI::System::getSingleton().setScriptingModule( &CEGUI::LuaScriptModule::create() );
    }

GuiEngine::~GuiEngine( void )
    {
        CEGUI::OgreRenderer::destroySystem();
    }

I am not sure whether I am doing something wrong or it is a bug. When stepping through the code in destroySystem() the crash happens on line 113 of CEGUIOgreRenderer.cpp which contains the following code:

OgreImageCodec* ic = &static_cast<OgreImageCodec&>(sys->getImageCodec());

System::destroy();
    destroyOgreImageCodec(*ic);

The error happens on destroyOgreImageCodec(*ic); which intern deletes ic. I noticed that once System::destroy() is called ic no longer exists (it appears to have been freed) causing the deletion of ic to fail.

Is this a bug or have I missed out a step :?

I am grateful for any help you can give,

Slake.

CrazyEddie
CEGUI Project Lead

Re: OgreRenderer crash in destroySystem()

Postby CrazyEddie » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:23

Hi,